Redford Township, Wayne County
Springwells Township and Bucklin Township were formally organized and laid out by gubernatorial act on April 12, 1827. Due to postal regulations prohibiting two post offices having the same name, when a township was subdivided unique names had to be found. The Bucklin name was extinguished when it was split on October 29, 1829, along what is today Inkster Road into Nankin Township (west half) and Pekin Township (east half), named as a result of a wave of interest in China. In March of 1833 Pekin was renamed Redford and the southern half became Dearborn Township on April 1. The name Redford was chosen because Indians and pioneers forded the River Rouge where the river runs through Redford. The word 'rouge' is French for the color red.
The township used to go all the way to Greenfield Road, but in the 1920s the eastern portions of the township were annexed by Detroit. This annexation ceased in 1926 when the township was given "charter" status by the Michigan legislature. In 1918 there was a post office named "Five Points" operating between 6 Mile Road and 7 Mile Road along the road of that name.